28th December – a walk on Gullane beach

The bay, with orange berries of sea buckthorn

After battering us with storms for weeks on end, the weather finally relented over Christmas – so on Boxing Day we drove to Gullane in East Lothian and took a walk along the beach.

It seemed like everyone had had the same idea – I’ve never seen so many people there!  But it was good to be by the sea, and to feel the sun on our faces.  I found some shells with piddock holes drilled in them, and another handful of pebbles made their way back home in my pocket.

Gullane’s beach and ‘bents’ (a Scots word meaning ‘rough grassland’) face north across the Firth of Forth, with the coastline of Fife in the distance.   The bright orange bushes are sea buckthorn, which give the impression of Mediterranean warmth.   But the sand was still frosted where it lay in shadow, and no one was dipping their toes in the waves!

Photos copyright © Colin & Jo Woolf

About Jo Woolf

I'm a freelance writer and editor with a passion for history and the natural world. If these are your passions, too, you might like my online magazine, The Hazel Tree. I'm married to Colin Woolf, one of the UK's top wildlife artists, and we live in central Scotland.
This entry was posted in Outdoors, Photography, Wildlife & nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 28th December – a walk on Gullane beach

  1. What a beautiful day, Jo, and so nice to get outside even if it was mobbed. Your photos are marvellous, I love that one of the waves coming in and the close ups of the sand. My mum and dad were at the beach in Aberdeenshire a couple of days ago and apparently there were people paddling – insane!

    • Jo Woolf says:

      Thank you very much, Lorna! Yes, it was good to be out in the fresh air and sunshine, especially after all the wind and rain. Those Aberdeenshire folks are pretty hardy by the sound of it!

  2. david says:

    What a good idea to get out and get some exercise. Much better idea than staying in the house eating to excess as I did. Lovely photos as always and a great variety of subject matter and views.

    • Jo Woolf says:

      It was certainly nice to get out, David – I’m glad you enjoyed the pics. If Christmas isn’t a time for indulging yourself, I don’t know what is. There’s plenty of time for salad-eating in the New Year!

  3. Carmen Mandel says:

    Wonderful shoreline, Jo.Before I looked at the pictures, I had been wondering if you had encountered any piddocks –yes!. The pebbles and barnacles are beautiful. Lovely scenery and mini Stonehenge find.

  4. blosslyn says:

    Lovely photos, so nice to get some sea air. We went to the North Norfolk coast this afternoon, had a short walk and then got in 3 churches, so I was happy :)

  5. montucky says:

    That was a very nice day! I enjoyed your photos of that beautiful place. I always love seeing scenes from there; so different from here.

    • Jo Woolf says:

      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed them! This is probably the closest beach to our home, and it’s lovely – though I’m already pining for the beaches of the west coast. I’m hoping we can take a trip there in the New Year!

  6. McEff says:

    Very refreshing. Just the job after Christmas Day.
    Alen

  7. dhphotosite says:

    Looks like it was a great day for a stroll on the beach. I love the “shore” as they call it around here, there are so many neat things to explore. And from your photos…I see you have found many! My favorite coastline is up in Maine…it looks very similar to these photos..cliffs, sand, pebbles, grasses, rocks…all the good stuff!

    • Jo Woolf says:

      It was a good day for a walk on the beach! :) I always get absorbed into turning over pebbles and picking up shells. You can lose yourself for a good couple of hours!

  8. Bob Zeller says:

    A great, eclectic collection of photos, Jo. You looking at and turning over stones, remind me that I do similar when I am in the desert, picking up rocks and watching for arrowheads and other artifacts. As you say, it can pass the time quickly. Happy New Year to you and Colin.

    • Jo Woolf says:

      Thank you, Bob! That’s a great compliment. I am sure I would be just as fascinated by the stones in the desert. I tend to lose track of time when I’m looking at stones and shells, and picking up arrowheads would be an amazing bonus! A very Happy New Year to you and Ann, too! :)

  9. J2Scotland says:

    I always love photos of the ocean and you’ve captured the beach and surroundings beautifully. looks like it was a nice day for a stroll.

Leave a Reply

